Home

Image Colour version

Image Uncoloured version

Warmup exercise I did as a collaboration with other Illustration students. We set ourselves 24 hours to make an A5 page, all based on the topic of ‘Circus’, to go into a zine. The submissions could be any media, so long as it was on an A5 piece of paper at the end.
My inspiration began with doodling things I associated with Circuses, and I ended up drawing an elephant with an accidentally creepy moustache, so I developed the character. I was just going to draw an Elephant with a moustache, but then the legs were too short, so I drew them again, but the body was too small. However, the small legs looked like tassels, and the long legs looked like a coat, so I added some arms and managed to create the abomination below.

Image

The other thing I tend to associate with Circuses are creepy clowns, so I brainstormed a couple of ideas for a story, as I felt that this character ought to be doing something, and I relished the challenge of making a narrative in such a short time.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

So I took the best parts of it all and arranged them into a short narrative, ending up with the top image.

I’m very pleased with this, as it was done in a hurry but still turned out well, and the limited colour palette I used due to the time limit compliments works really well. Normally I can get very bogged down in colours and lighting, but this time it was very simple.

Also, making creepy work is really fun.

The zine has yet to be made.

Leave a Reply

