Home

As I mentioned in the last post, I’d gone through a stage of lethargy followed by resignation and panic. None of my ideas had turned out well and I was left feeling quite powerless with very little time left. However, my tutor suggested that, seeing as one of my problems had been trying to write and draw something at the same time, how about I find something that’s already written to draw, like an article?

Now, I wasn’t the most optimistic about this, but I knew it’d be a good idea for my work to have some kind of structure, a base foundation that I couldn’t change so that my focus would be entirely on the artwork at hand rather than on phrasing and writing.

So, I went back through all of the various articles and online resources that I’d researched for this project and my Rationale, looking for something, anything really, that was informative and inspiring

Articles I looked at:

Andrew Solomon’s TED Talk: Depression, the secret we share

Are mental illnesses such as PMS and depression culturally determined?

China starts to turn to drugs as awareness of depression spreads

Depression is more than simple unhappiness

There’s Good News and Bad News. And Fat News

Depression is humiliating

Unseen Imperial – Depression: the stigmatised illness

Ten Lies Depression Tells You

 

Eventually I settled on this one: Miles and Miles of No-Man’s Land

I picked it because not only did it feel very personal and relateable, but the metaphors used throughout (or are they similes? I’m not sure) inspired me. It’s by Libba Bray and I have tried asking her on Twitter for permission to exhibit the work, but so far I have had no reply.

Now that I’d selected an article, it was time to analyse it and decide on how to interpret and re-imagine it through illustration. I’d been wanting to use my new graphics tablet, so I decided to test it by annotating the article on photoshop.

Miles and Miles of No-Man's land sketchdump notesMiles and Miles of No-Man's land sketchdump 1 Miles and Miles of No-Man's land sketchdump 2Miles and Miles of No-Man's land sketchdump 3

Suddenly I actually felt a small amount of enthusiasm that began to creep back into my work. I wasn’t quite back to my old work ethic, but I was certainly producing more than before and feeling better about my work too. Plus, I’ve found that I really like working completely digitally with a graphics tablet. It’s just so convenient and easy.

I was still hanging on to the idea of using a shadow with a dog’s skull as a visual metaphor for depression, but I realised that turning depression into a monster was not what I wanted to do, and that I had actually identified the problem a while ago when Fay and I decided to change our representation of depression from creatures/monsters into a landscape.

So, I scrapped the dog-skull monsters and looked back at my previous work. The idea I’d briefly explored before of being lost in a forest appealed to me, and a part of the text which is about being stuck in a bathtub reminded me of the idea I’d had previously of using the ocean as a metaphor for depression, so I developed those ideas as they also linked with the text nicely. The developed ideas are in the next post.

Below are some scrapped variations of an idea I had for the dog-skull creature before I scrapped it.

FMP Depression 1.5FMP Depression 1.6FMP Depression 1.7 FMP Depression 1.8

FMP Depression 1FMP Depression 1.1FMP Depression 1.2FMP Depression 1.4FMP Depression 1.3

All Final Major Project related posts (in order):

FMP Brief

FMP: Letter to MIND and Re-think Mental Illness

Final Major Project timetable and tutorial sheet from 27/1/14

’100 Aspects of the Moon’ by Tsuki Hyakushi

Carlos Aon

Anne Yvonne Gilbert

Luciana Fernandez

Goblins research

Goblins and ideas

Research Poster

A change in sea-nerey (ahah, puns)

When I lost my motivation

Flailing for ideas

Salvaging the remains of the project

The beginning of an article

The First Version

The Second Version

The Third Version

Article the fourth

The Final Version

Final Major Project: A Reflective Summary

Leave a Reply

